DITA, Int/Adv Modern Tech w/guest artist Sara Yanney

Join us in welcoming Sara Yanney to the Annex!

Images of dance and dancers

Sunday March 19th
Wealthy Theatre Annex
1110 Wealthy St Se
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
$15/$12 students w/ID
For dancers ages 16+
For more information email [email protected]

Class Description: This modern dance class will be based in Laban/Bartenieff based Evans Modern Dance Technique. There is an emphasis on body awareness and moving in a healthy, efficient way, while also exploring the dynamic possibilities of human movement.

Sara Yanney, MFA,GL-CMA, is a Modern/Contemporary dance educator, choreographer, and performer. She has been dancing with Wellspring/Cori Terry & Dancers since 2014. She also shows her work independently as the artistic director of The =ibrium Dance Project, founded in the summer of 2012, which has shown work in IL, IN, MI, NJ, NY, OH, and WI and internationally in Canada and Haiti. She has performed with the Bill Evans Dance Company, Blue Tribe African Dance Company, Blythe Edens Dance Company, Indy Convergence, Gran Lakou Haitian Folkloric Dance Company, The New Mexico Contemporary Dance Alliance, Motus Dance Theatre, and SMAG Dance Collective. Sara has served on faculty at Ball State University and Anderson University, is the founder/director of Jump Into Motion Dance Academy, which offered affordable dance and movement education to children at their schools and day cares from 2006-2013 in the Indianapolis area and in the Kalamazoo area since 2016, and is certified in the Bill Evans Method of Teaching Laban/Bartenieff-Based Modern Dance Technique. She is training to become a certified Alexander Technique teacher, received her GL-CMA (Graduate Laban-Certified Movement Analyst) from Columbia College Chicago in Fall 2016, her MFA in Performing Arts: Dance at the Peck School of the Arts, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in 2016, where she was a recipient of the Chancellors Graduate Student Award, and received her BA in Dance from the University of New Mexico in 2003 with departmental honors and received the Friends of Dance Scholarship, The Provost Award for Artistic and Academic Achievement, The Bill Evans Dance Teachers Intensive Scholarship, and the Barbara Kiker Award for Excellence in Dance.